Research at the Cutting Edge: Kiel Institute Honors Young Economists for Outstanding Work

Group Picture of the Excellence Award Winners 2023 at the Prize Ceremony in Berlin.

Four young economists based in the United States and the United Kingdom received this year’s Excellence Awards in Global Economic Affairs of the Kiel Institute. Created to promote young talents, the Excellence Awards are open to researchers and academics up to 37 years. The research of this year's winners is very relevant to current global developments.

The winners of the Excellence Awards in Global Economic Affairs for 2023 are:

  • Ernest Liu (Princeton University) for his research in networks, trade, and industrial policy. Liu´s outstanding contribution includes using production network theory to better understand industrial policies, international tensions, or the diffusion of innovation.
  • Dmitry Mukhin (London School of Economics) for his contribution to the field of International Macroeconomics. Mukhin´s outstanding research includes a general equilibrium framework for a global economy with dominant currency pricing of international trade flows.
  • Nitya Pandalai-Nayar (UT Austin) for her outstanding research in international trade and multinational offshoring. One of her contributions has been to provide causal evidence for the significant role of trade and multinational firms in the cross-country transmission of shocks.
  • David Yang (Harvard University) for his contributions to the field of political economy. Yang´s outstanding research allows to better understand forces that generate status quos or changes in authoritarian regimes, drawing lessons mainly from historical and contemporary China.

Each of the four winners will be awarded a Research Fellowship at the Kiel Institute funded through separate scholarship programs (Otto Group Fellowship, Porsche Fellowship, Kiel Institute Fellowship, and Sauer Compressors Fellowship). The aim of the Kiel Institute’s Excellence Awards in Global Economic Affairs is to build an international community of young talented economic researchers. The Excellence Awards have been presented annually since 2007.

The award ceremony took place today in Berlin and is embedded in the high-level international Geoeconomics Conference organized by the Kiel Institute and CEPR (Centre for Economic Policy Research) in cooperation with the German Foreign Office.