Suitable prizewinners are proposed in a continuous process from among the Kiel Institute's network of experts, from the Institute's staff and from the jury of the Global Economy Prize. These proposals are then evaluated by the jury of the Global Economy Prize and, if they are found to be suitable, are ranked. The jury is composed of the following members:

  • The President of the Kiel Institute (Prof. Gebriel Felbermayr, PhD)
  • The Lord Mayor of the state capital of Kiel (Dr. Ulf Kämpfer)
  • The Vice President of the IHK Schleswig-Holstein (Consul Klaus-Hinrich Vater)
  • The Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Council of the Kiel Institute (Prof. Philipp Schröder, PhD)