Prize Winners

List of all Prize Winners of the Global Economy Prize


2023 Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala 
Director General World Trade Organization (WTO)

2022 Dr. Dalia Grybauskaitė
Former President of the Republic of Lithuania, and former European Commissioner for Financial Programming and the Budget 

2021  Dr. Göran Persson
Former Minister President of Sweden

2019  Dr. Wolfgang Schäuble MdB
President of the German Bundestag

2018  Prof. Klaus Schwab
Founder and executive chairman of the World Economic Forum (WEF)

2017  Prof. Dr. Horst Köhler
German politician and economist. Former Federal President of Germany and Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund

2016  Prof. Mario Monti
President University Bocconi, former Prime Minister of Italy and former European Commissioner for Competition

2015  Mikhail Gorbachev(†)
Former Soviet Politician and USSR Head of State, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

2014  Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
President of the Republic of Liberia, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

2013  Dr. Gro Harlem Brundtland
Former Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Norway

2012  Dr. h.c. mult. Martti Ahtisaari (†)
Former President of the Republic of Finland, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

2011  Jean-Claude Trichet
President of the European Central Bank

2010  Pascal Lamy
Director General of the World Trade Organization (WTO)

2009  Mary Robinson
Former President of the Republic of Ireland

2008  Nelly Kroes
European Union Competition Commissioner

2007  Dr. h.c. mult. Helmut Schmidt (†)
Former Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany

2006  Jacques Delors
Former President of the European Commission

2005  Dr. Wim Kok (†)
Former Prime Minister of the Kingdom of the Netherlands


2023 Dr. Eleni Gabre-Madhin
Chief Innovation Officer, UNDP Regional Bureau for Africa

2022  Hans-Julius Ahlmann
Managing Partner of the ACO Group 

2021  Prof. Dr. Michael Otto
Chairman of the Otto Group Supervisory Board

2019  Hikmet Ersek
President, CEO, Director, Western Union

2018  Bas van Abel
Founder and CEO of Fairphone B.V.

2017  Arundhati Bhattacharya
Indian banker. Chairperson of the State Bank of India
Brunello Cucinelli
Italian fashion designer. Founder, Chairman and CEO of Brunello Cucinelli S.p.A.

2016  Dr. h.c. Friede Springer
Publisher, Axel Springer SE

2015  Jeffrey Immelt
CEO of General Electric
Kristine and Douglas (†) Tompkins
Entrepreneurs in the textile industry (The North Face, Esprit, Patagonia), Founder of private wildlife sanctuaries in Patagonia

2014  Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw
Chairman and Managing Director of Biocon Limited

2013  Mohammed Ibrahim, Ph.D.
Entrepreneur and Founder of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation

2012  Prof. Nathan Eagle, Ph.D.
Founder and Chairman of Jana

2011  Victor L.L. Chu
Chairman of the First Eastern Investment Group, Hong Kong

2010  Liz Mohn
CEO of the Bertelsmann Asset Management Co., Deputy CEO of the Bertelsmann Foundation

2009  Sunil Bharti Mittal
Chairman of the Bharti Group
Baba N. Kalyani
Chairman of the Kalyani Group

2008  Dietmar Hopp
Founder of SAP

2007  Dr. h.c. Ingvar Kamprad (†)
Founder of IKEA

2006  Dr. Jorma Ollila
CEO of Nokia

2005  Dr. Wendelin Wiedeking
CEO of Porsche


2023 Prof. Leonard Wantchekon, Ph.D.
Princeton University

2022  Prof. Ufuk Akcigit Ph.D.
Arnold C. Harberger Professor of Economics, University of Chicago

2021  Prof. Xuemei Bai, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor, Urban Environment and Human Ecology, Australian National University, Canberra

2019  Prof. Daron Acemoglu, Ph.D.
Professor of Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

2018  Prof. Robert Shiller, Ph.D.
American economist, Nobel prizewinner, and best-selling author

2017  Prof. Assar Lindbeck, Ph.D.(†)
Swedish economist. Professor of International Economics at the University of Stockholm

2015  Sir Christopher A. Pissarides
London School of Economics, University of Cyprus

2014  Prof. Richard H. Thaler, Ph.D.
University of Chicago

2013  Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Joseph E. Stiglitz, Ph.D.
Columbia University, Nobel Laureate

2012  Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Daniel Kahneman, Ph.D.
University of California, Nobel Laureate

2011  Prof. Lawrence H. Summers, Ph.D.
Harvard University

2010  Prof. Paul R. Krugman, Ph.D.
Princeton University, Nobel Laureate

2009  Prof. Jeffrey Sachs, Ph.D.
Leiter des Earth Institute, Columbia University

2008  Prof. Edmund Phelps, Ph.D.
Columbia University, Nobel Laureate

2007  Prof. Dr. h.c. mult. Amartya Sen, Ph.D.
Harvard University, Nobel Laureate

2006  Prof. George Akerlof, Ph.D.
University of California, Nobel Laureate

2005  Prof. Robert Mundell, Ph.D. (†)
Columbia University, Nobel Laureate