Nobel Prize in Economics 2019 "Innovative theory and new concepts"

Comment by Gabriel Felbermayr, President, Kiel Institute for the World Economy, on Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo, and Michael Kremer winning the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences 2019 (Nobel Prize):

“The three prize winners have taken development research to a whole new level with innovative theory and new concepts. With the help of controlled experiments, they have turned development economics into an empirical science that has thus moved from the periphery to the centre of economics. I am particularly pleased that Abhijit Banerjee is being honoured with whom we feel a close connection here in Kiel since he visited us in 2014 for his Bernhard-Harms Award. It is also very gratifying that with his partner Esther Duflo, a woman is being honoured and a quite young European.”