European Central Bank

The European Central Bank (ECB) is the central bank of the 19 European Union countries which have adopted the Euro. The ECBs main task is to maintain price stability in the euro area and so preserve the purchasing power of the single currency. The ECB is an official EU institution at the heart of the Eurosystem as well as the Single Supervisory Mechanism for banking supervision.

It is partner of the Kiel Institute's EES network.