Benutzerspezifische Werkzeuge

Global Economy Prize


Motivation | Nomination | Prize Winners | Guests of Honor | Media




Global Economy Prize 2018

The Global Economy Prize of the Kiel Institute for the World Economy and its partners, the City of Kiel and the IHK Schleswig-Holstein was presented on Sunday, June 17, at the Haus der Wirtschaft building of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Kiel for the fourteenth time.
Recognized as pioneers of a cosmopolitan, economically liberal, and public-spirited society, this year’s laureates are:


  • Prof. Klaus Schwab

    Founder and president of the World Economic Forum (WEF)
    Category: Politics
  • Bas van Abel

    Founder and CEO of Fairphone B.V.
    Category: Business
  • Prof. Robert Shiller, Ph.D.

    American economist, Nobel prizewinner, and best-selling author
    Category: Economics.

    ► Media Information: "Global Economy Prize 2018 Awarded"


About the Global Economy Prize


The Global Economy Prize is awarded since 2005 by the Kiel Institute for the World Economy and its partners, the City of Kiel and the Schleswig-Holstein Chamber of Commerce. The prize is meant to honor those who have proposed creative, pathbreaking initiatives to deal with globalization and who dare envision a more wholesome future by addressing the global problems of our time. Its awarded annually to influential personalities in politics, business and science, who have made an outstanding contribution to establishing a just and protective society based on individual initiative and responsibility.


Global Economy Prize 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 |
2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005