Benutzerspezifische Werkzeuge

Bernhard Harms Prize


The Bernhard Harms Prize — named after the founder of the Kiel Institute — is awarded every two years. The prize in particular honors scholars with a distinguished record in the field of international economics. The prize includes a cash award of 25,000 Euro which is contributed by the Society for the Promotion of the Kiel Institute. The prize was awarded for the first time in 1964 in honor of the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Institute. The Bernhard Harms Lectures, which are given by the prize-winners at the award ceremony are now regularly published in the Institute’s international journal "Review of World Economics / Weltwirtschaftliches Archiv".


Kiel Institute’s Bernhard Harms Prize 2016 goes to Marc Melitz

The Bernhard Harms Prize 2016 was awarded to Professor Marc Melitz, Harvard University, in a ceremony held at the Kiel Institute on Dec.7, 2016.
“In Marc Melitz, we are honoring an economist who has made a very valuable contribution to the research of global economic relationships and global economic cooperation,” said Dennis Snower, president of the Kiel Institute, on presenting the award. “Thanks to his work, we now understand the conditions that determine when companies are restricted to their domestic market, when they begin to export, and when they establish a presence in other countries. We understand why companies with the same products and the same target groups operate in totally different ways on the global stage, and we have a better idea of the extent to which international trade can strengthen the market position and productivity of a company in its home country.” Melitz’s 2003 paper The Impact of Trade on Intra-Industry Reallocations and Aggregate Industry Productivity, originally published in the prestigious journal Econometrica, is one of the most widely referenced works in recent decades, with over 10,000 academic citations. The Melitz model presented in the paper is now a cornerstone of modern international trade theory.



The recipients of the prize to date are:

2014: Professor Abhijit Banerjee, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
          (Press Release)

2012: Professor Gene Grossman, Princeton University
          (Award Ceremony)

2010: Professor Raghuram Rajan, University of Chicago
          (Award Ceremony)

2008: Professor Kenneth Rogoff, Harvard University
          (Award Ceremony)

2006: Professor Robert Feenstra, University of California
          (Award Ceremony)

2004: Professor Maurice Obstfeld, University of California

2002: Professor Stanley Fischer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2000: Professor Jeffrey D. Sachs, Harvard University

1998: Professor Elhanan Helpman, Harvard University

1996: Professor Assar Lindbeck, Institute for International Economic Studies

1994: Professor Martin Feldstein, Harvard University

1992: Professor Rudiger Dornbusch, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1990: Professor Anne O. Krueger, Duke University

1988: Professor Jagdish Bhagwati, Columbia University

1986: Professor W. Max Corden, Australian National University

1984: Professor Bela Balassa, Johns Hopkins University

1982: Professor William Fellner, Yale University

1980: Professor Erik Lundberg, Stockholm School of Economics

1978: Professor Charles P. Kindleberger, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1976: Professor Harry G. Johnson, University of Chicago

1974: Professor Fritz Machlup, Princeton University

1972: Professor Gottfried Haberler, Harvard University

1970: Professor Wassily Leontief, Harvard University

1968: Drs. Hermann Josef Abs, Frankfurt/Main

1966: Sir Roy Harrod, Christ Church College, Oxford

1964: Professor Gerhard Colm, Washington, D.C.