Benutzerspezifische Werkzeuge

Prizes and Awards


Global Economy Prize

The Kiel Institute Global Economy Prize is awarded annually to an economist, a politician, and a businessperson who have made an outstanding contribution to establishing a just and protective society based on individual initiative and responsibility. The prize is meant to promote a creative voice heard in frequently sterile public debate on the future of the global economy. It is neither the voice of ruthless, unconstrained market forces, nor the voice of indiscriminate government intervention. Instead, in honoring the outstanding accomplishment of our prizewinners, the Kiel institute seeks to highlight how incentive-based market activity can promote both economic efficiency and social equity.

Bernhard Harms Prize

The Bernhard Harms Prize – named after the founder of the Kiel Institute – is awarded every two years. The prize in particular honors scholars with a distinguished record in the field of international economics. The prize includes a cash award of 25,000 Euro which is contributed by the Society for the Promotion of the Kiel Institute.

Excellence Award in Global Economic Affairs

The aim of the new Kiel Institute Excellence Award is to build up a community of the brightest young researchers in the area of global economic affairs. The prize winners will receive intellectual, financial, and administrative support – based on the Kiel Institute’s generous resources – to pursue focused programs of research in designated areas.

Bernhard Harms Medal

The Bernhard Harms Medal is awarded at irregular intervals. The medal is awarded to persons who have contributed to the Kiel Institute's research on the world economy in the tradition of Bernd Harms.