Personal tools
>> Events >> Bernhard Harms Prize  
Document Actions

Bernhard Harms Prize


The Bernhard Harms Prize — named after the founder of the Kiel Institute — is awarded every two years. The prize in particular honors scholars with a distinguished record in the field of international economics. The prize includes a cash award of 25,000 Euro which is contributed by the Society for the Promotion of the Kiel Institute. The prize was awarded for the first time in 1964 in honor of the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Institute. The Bernhard Harms Lectures, which are given by the prize-winners at the award ceremony are now regularly published in the Institute’s international journal "Review of World Economics / Weltwirtschaftliches Archiv".

The recipients of the prize to date are:

2012: Professor Gene Grossman, Princeton University
          (Award Ceremony)

2010: Professor Raghuram Rajan, University of Chicago
          (Award Ceremony)

2008: Professor Kenneth Rogoff, Harvard University
          (Award Ceremony)

2006: Professor Robert Feenstra, University of California
          (Award Ceremony)

2004: Professor Maurice Obstfeld, University of California

2002: Professor Stanley Fischer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2000: Professor Jeffrey D. Sachs, Harvard University

1998: Professor Elhanan Helpman, Harvard University

1996: Professor Assar Lindbeck, Institute for International Economic Studies

1994: Professor Martin Feldstein, Harvard University

1992: Professor Rudiger Dornbusch, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1990: Professor Anne O. Krueger, Duke University

1988: Professor Jagdish Bhagwati, Columbia University

1986: Professor W. Max Corden, Australian National University

1984: Professor Bela Balassa, Johns Hopkins University

1982: Professor William Fellner, Yale University

1980: Professor Erik Lundberg, Stockholm School of Economics

1978: Professor Charles P. Kindleberger, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1976: Professor Harry G. Johnson, University of Chicago

1974: Professor Fritz Machlup, Princeton University

1972: Professor Gottfried Haberler, Harvard University

1970: Professor Wassily Leontief, Harvard University

1968: Drs. Hermann Josef Abs, Frankfurt/Main

1966: Sir Roy Harrod, Christ Church College, Oxford

1964: Professor Gerhard Colm, Washington, D.C.